Posted by: alyceinwonderland | September 5, 2010

modeling

My First Photo Shoot
As the model

Two weeks ago, I traveled to a drizzly New York City to model for my first real photo shoot — Yup, it was the prize for winning the Mochi Magazine Beauty and Fashion Consultation Contest, the video entry to which is posted below!

I could hardly sleep the night before due to both excitement and nerves. On the one hand, my interest in fashion made this the perfect opportunity to learn more about the nitty gritty of the industry. Plus, what aspiring fashionista doesn’t go gaga at the prospect of being dressed up in someone else’s expensive clothes, someone who knows what they’re doing, someone who’s been affirmed as trendy? But on the other hand, I am not a model. Would I know how to pose, or would I — trying way too hard — freeze up in a pile of my own tangled limbs and affected awkwardness??

It turned out to be a wonderful and eye-opening experience. In the process of learning, I also developed a fierce admiration for my makeup artist, the Editor-in-Chief of Mochi, my photographer, the boutique owner, the Mochi staff… Actually, that’s basically everyone that was there. It was a full 6-hour day of difficult but rewarding work. I can’t say too much now because the issue that contains the shoot is not out yet, but I will let you know soon! I’ll also be writing a blog entry about the day’s happenings. Ah, familiar ground.

A Wonderful Shoot
As the photographer

Needless to say, my experience at an actual fashion shoot was an inspiration. I itched to be behind the camera again, and thought it would be wonderful to include some of that work as well as the process on this blog.

Luckily my beautiful friend Tiffany was looking for some professional photos to commemorate her 21st year; you can say it’s a bit of an Asian tradition to capture a girl’s blossoming youth in her 16th and 21st years. Perfect. I was more than happy to oblige.

A twelve-hour day of running around to different sets, picking and changing outfits (and then changing our minds), trekking through the blistering heat and smoldering humidity, and explaining the purpose of a fashion shoot to a curious cop who thought we were delinquents breaking into his precious community barn later… I present to you a high concept shoot, titled The Five Stages of a Modern Young Woman.

Please feel free to contact me at alyce.tzue@gmail.com if you are interested in one of these for yourself or for someone you know! My rates are very reasonable (:

Be sure to check out the Facebook album of Tiff’s complete set of photos: Tiffany’s album

Leave a Reply

Categories

